Crockpot Chicken Tortilla Soup

I am not sure I can explain to you how much I love my crockpot. If I could make every meal using it, I would. I love that I can put in a bunch of ingredients and then come back hours later to a (often complete) meal.  Many of our dinners are whatever Meghan felt like throwing into the crockpot chicken. And its usually pretty delicious.

Our current go to crockpot meal is Chicken Tortilla Soup. I cant decide if the best part of this dish is that its fairly healthy or that its a one pot meal or that Justin loves it so much he says he would eat it every day. Basically, its just an around winner.

soup

Be warned about this soup- Justin and I love spices. My mom is an exceptional cook and seasons everything so well. Because of this I put a lot of seasoning into everything.  However, this soup is really versatile. You can add more or less spice, totally up to you. I suggest combining the chicken broth and spices in a bowl prior to adding to the crockpot and sampling to make sure the spice level is to your liking.

 

spices

Chicken Tortilla Soup

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts

1 can seasoned black beans (drained)

1 can navy beans (drained)

1 can corn (drained)

1 can rotel w/ green chile OR 1 can diced tomatoes and 4 oz can green chiles

1/4 cup diced onions

3 cups chicken broth

3 tablespoons taco seasoning

1 tablespoon chilli powder & cumin

1/2 tablespoon paprika

3 garlic cloves

1/2 can fat free cream of chicken soup (optional)

Avocado (optional)

Sour Cream (optional)

Directions

Salt and pepper chicken and then place in bottom of the crockpot.

Put remaining ingredients except for cream of chicken soup in crockpot

Cook on low for 6 hours

Take chicken out of crockpot and shred, return to crockpot

If desiring a creamier soup, stir in cream of soup at this time

Cook for another 15 minutes

Top with avocado and sour cream if desired

Leave a comment